My Canada 150

By Carolyn Nesbitt-Larking

Canada is in full celebratory mode for the 150th anniversary of the founding of this vast country.

In honour of Canada’s sesquicentennial celebration, I’ve decided to take on a mini project. Over the coming year I will be using this space to share with you 150 posts about my experiences growing up in Canada. Right now I have no significant ground rules. Nor do I have any expectations on where this will go or how it will be perceived. I am also fully aware my experience is not necessarily representative of all Canadians. All I know is that my personal experience to this geography, to this political system and to this national identity has played a significant role in shaping who I am today as a woman, and a global citizen.

I have travelled extensively and have a certificate in my passport that allows me to live and work in the UK. But I am proud to call Canada home. To call myself a Canadian first.

Does this mean I am naively patriotic incapable of acknowledging the flaws and challenges of the Canadian identity? Absolutely not.

I hope you will join me over the next year as I share with you some of my experiences.

 

 

Leave a Reply

